

For Information

Acknowledgement of Retiring Members of the Advisory Committee on Accessible Transit (ACAT)

Date: December 15, 2020To: TTC BoardFrom: Chief Operating Officer

Summary

Members of ACAT are appointed for up to a three-year term and one-third of the members are replaced each year.

Every year, the Board acknowledges the contributions of the five retiring ACAT members by presenting them with an in-appreciation plaque. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the associated lockdown mandated by the Province in the City of Toronto, the formal presentation of in-appreciation plaques has been cancelled.

Financial Summary

This report has no financial impact. The Interim Chief Financial Officer has reviewed this report and agrees with the Financial Summary information.

Equity/Accessibility Matters

ACAT was established in 1992 to provide a mechanism for ongoing public participation on matters pertaining to accessible public transit in the City of Toronto. Such matters include the removal of barriers to accessibility and improving the customer experience for all riders. ACAT is comprised of 15 members residing in Toronto with diverse backgrounds who have demonstrated knowledge of, and interest in, accessible transit issues. Reporting directly to the Board, ACAT provides advice and guidance on accessibility improvements to conventional, Wheel-Trans and community bus services to better meet the needs of the community.

Contact

Lodon Hassan, Assistant Manager – Customer Service, Wheel-Trans 416-393-6732 Iodon.hassan@ttc.ca Dwayne Geddes, Head of Wheel-Trans 416-393-3095 <u>dwayne.geddes@ttc.ca</u>

Signature

James Ross Chief Operating Officer

Attachment

Attachment 1 – 2020 Retiring ACAT Members

Attachment 1

RETIRING MEMBERS (January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2020)

- 1. Mazin Aribi
- 2. Anita Dressler
- 3. Jessica Geboers
- 4. Marian McDonell
- 5. Bobbi Moore